Well, I missed my two month anniversary due to my absence, so consider this a special post marking my achievement. Once again, I find it sad that quite a number of Adventures in Odyssey fan sites only last a month or two. So I try and give something special every month or so. So to mark two months of existence for Twists and Turns, I am hosting an interview with Christian A. from The Voice of Odyssey. For those of you who don't know, Christian A. is one of the most devoted Odyssey fans out there, running the Voice since March 24, 2010, and has a very outspoken testimony. Well, let's begin the interview.

The Old Judge: Whe did you first start listening to Adventures in Odyssey?

Christian A.: I'm not sure of the exact age, but I was around six or seven when my mom got me my first set. It was the special, limited-edition 10 CD set, which you can see here on The Odyssey Scoop.

The Old Judge: What was the first episode you ever listened to?

Christian A.: Well, since my first set was the one mentioned above, I believe the first episode could have been "Connie Comes to Town". But that may not be totally accurate, because I think I may have known about Odyssey from the radio or tapes from Chick-fil-A before that. So I can't really say for sure.

The Old Judge: What inspired you to start The Voice of Odyssey?

Christian A.: Oh, boy. Well, it was really inspired by Josh from The AIO Fan's Life. He and I met on The Odyssey Scoop comments and had all of our conversations there until he showed me his blog. And eventually, he urged me to ask my parents if I could start my own blog, since I felt that I had so much to say about thte Album 51 episodes that were coming out. So I asked, and my parents totally surprised me by saying yes! And the rest is history!

The Old Judge: Does anybody help you on your blog, or do you do it solo?

Christian A.: Nope, I do it all myself. I do get some of my ideas and points for my reviews for others on occasion, but the vast majority comes from my own feeble brain.

The Old Judge: Do you have any future plans for your blog, and if so, what are they?

Christian A.: Gee, I really don't want to think about the future. I just hope I can keep it going. Life continues to get more and more hectic for me, and it's all I can do to post an update every couple of weeks. I just hope that I can keep reviewing every episode as it comes out. That's really my only goal.

The Old Judge: What is your favorite Adventures in Odyssey episode of all time, and why?

Christian A.: Why does everyone always ask this question?! No, it's alright. It's just hard. The episode that always comes to my mind is when I'm asked this question is The Search for Whit, Parts I, II, and III. I'm not entirely sure, but I've always liked this show, and I never really get tired of it. You're not going to get much more out of me than that.

The Old Judge: What is your favorite Adventures in Odyssey album of all time, and why?

Christian A.: My favorite album... I'm not sure if anyone has ever asked me that one. Good question. Although I don't own it, I really like In Hot Pursuit--Album 41, where Connie and Joanne go on a roadtrip to Washington D.C. where she ends up almost marrying Mitch. It also has some great single episodes like Do or Diet and The Mailman Cometh. Yeah, I think I'd have to say #41.

The Old Judge: What is your favorite Adventures in Odyssey saga of all time, and why?

Christian A.: Well, although Backgaard comes close, I think I have to agree with almost everyone else and say Novacom. It was an amazing accomplishment by the AIO team, and it really hasn't been matched by anyhting else they've ever done. Great plot, great characters, great suspense, great ending. Maybe they can make something like it in the future, but I think Novacom will always hold a special place in every AIO fan's heart.

The Old Judge: Who is your favorite actor to voice Whit?

Christian A.: Oh, boy, this is a tough one. I can definitely say--NOT Andre Stojka! But choosing between Paul Herlinger and Hal Smith is harder. I suspect that if I had been a fan of Odyssey earlier on, I would say Hal Smith, but the time I was born, Paul Herlinger was already in place. So while I really like Hal Smith's Whit, I guess I would have to say Paul Herlinger. He was always great at giving wisdom and advice, and he was amazing in all the action/adventure episodes he acted in.

The Old Judge: What do you think of the current era of Adventures in Odyssey?

Christian A.: Egh. I mean, the Odyssey writers have shelled out some great stories for us. But there hasn't been much heart. There have been good episodes in every album, but there have been few GREAT ones. And another problem I've had is that the episodes are all about morals. Now, that's not necessarily a bad thing, but when it's all morals and laws and legalism, and there's no talk about how we cannot naturally obey and pleae God, and Jesus had to please God for us, you can end up with hypocrites or Pharisees who think that they're pleasing God by keeping the law. AIO needs to be careful that it doesn't seperate the moral message of the Bible from the gospel message of the Bible, which tells us that we can never be good enough for God. Our hearts are corrupt by nature, and we need Jesus to be good enough for us. We need His righteousness, and nothing else will please God. APart from Him, we face eternal damnation. Well, that was a long, complicated answer. Sorry if that was more than you were asking for.

The Old Judge: What are your opinions on Andre Stojka? Has he gotten better in the role, worse, or what?

Christian A.: Boy, Andre Stojka. I suppose he's grown into the role a little with the 5 albums he's worked on. But he hasn't really grown on me. Eever since I became convinced he isn't a Christian, I've not been able to genuinely like him. I mean, if you're playing Mister Whittaker, you should at least share his faith if you're going to add any heart and soul to the role. But from what I can tell, Andre makes no Christian profession, so I can't get over that, and I don't know if I'll ever like his job as Whit.

The Old Judge: What are your thoughts on upcoming Album 56:The Grand Design?

Christian A.: I'm pretty excited for it. Some of the episodes really intrigue me. (See my latest blog post for more on that.) I was pretty pleased with Album 55, so while I'm hoping that Album 56 will continue the gradual improvements, I'm not getting my expectations too high, because I don't want to be disappointed. But so far, everything looks good, and I think we're in for an enjoyable new season of episodes.

The Old Judge: Who is your favorite Adventures in Odyssey character, before and after the hiatus?

Christian A.: Oh, man. Another hard question. This one I really don't know if I can answer. I think I've said before that Jimmy Barclay is one that stands out. Believe it or not, Connie is actually a very relatable character for me. She seems to struggle with a lot of the same things I do, so I am usually helped greatly when she receives advice from Whit. (At least, in the old days, before Andre.) After the hiatus.....I guess Matthew Parker is a pretty good character. Ryan Cummings as well. I guess if I had to pick one, I'd say Ryan.

The Old Judge: Who is your least favorite Adventures in Odyssey character, before and after the hiatus?

Christian A.: Now this could be a bit easier. After the hiatus....(drumroll please)....Penny Wise! She seems to bring out the worst in everybody. She makes Wooton forget his values and fall for someone he knows next to nothing about, and she brought Connie's guard down when it came to meditation and the false teachings of Doctor Trask. I just don't think she's good for Odyssey. I don't know what prompted the writers to make her such a big character. Before the hiatus is a little more difficult. There were always minor characters that rubbed me the wrong way: Erica Clark, Courtney, Kim, Jeff.....But I can't really think of any specific character who I thought was totally unnecessary, as in the case of Penny.

The Old Judge: Are there any Adventures in Odyssey fan podcasts you listen to?

Christian A.: Oh, I LOVED the Unofficial Podcast back in the day when they were up and going. I was so sad to see them go. All other fan podcasts pale in comparison to that one. The Ceiling Fan is a bit too silly for me. The Whit's End Podcast I just really don't listen to, for personal reasons. I like Dave's AIO review podcasts. His thoughts are fun to listen to. And then there's always the Official Podcast, which is mildly entertaining, but I don't even listen to every episode they release. It probably boils down to the fact that I don't have time to listen to podcasts anymore. Unless it looks interesting enough that I put it on my mp3 player, I probably won't listen to it.

The Old Judge: Are there any Adventures in Odyssey fan sites that you frequent?

Christian A.: Well, the ones that I frequent a lot include The Town of Odyssey, The Odyssey Scoop, AIOWiki, and The AIO Fan's Life, (when it's being updated), and The Changing Times. All the rest I visit semi-frequently, but I'm not really attached to any of them.

The Old Judge: What are your opinions on my site, Twists and Turns?

Christian A.: Well, I won't lie and say that I go there very often. But I just gave it a full once-over this morning, and I was genuinely impressed. Your "Imagination Station" page is very thorough, and I like how you include an icon with every site. Your features are interesting and very well-formatted. And your blog posts are very inclusive---meaning you cover absolutely everything. Kind of like how I was when I started my blog..... Anyway, it is a very good website. It stands out, and it's obvious you're a big fan of the show and you care about its future. My advice to you would be just to keep trying to improve your writing skills so that you can write reviews that people will look forward to. That's really the key to maintaining a great website.

The Old Judge: If you could write an Adventures in Odyssey episode, what would it be about?

Christian A.: I wouldn't really know where to start. If you're interested, I wrote this "Episode Idea" for the "Chicken Soup" section of The Odyssey Scoop about a year ago.

"Falling Up"

Matthew Parker starts noticing disappearances all over town. First, it's only streetlights and stop signs here and there. Then, plants and trees start vanishing from right where they were standing. But the trouble comes when one of the kids in his class at school disappears completely. So Matthew convinces Emily to help him interview the kid's parents about the vanishing. But, after a few days, more kids and even adults start disappearing. The Jones & Parker Detective Agency is forced to go on a stakeout. All the facts point to Mister Whittaker as the next victim. They keep watch in the bushes at his house, particularly looking for anything above his house. And just as the clock tower in the middle of town strikes 12 A.M., a UFO appears at the top of Whit's house. Matthew struggles to wake Emily up as a strange white beam shoots out of the middle of the strange floating spacecraft. Whit is pulled up through the air into the ship, and then the whole thing disappears. The next morning, Connie hears from Lawrence Hodges and Jared DeWhite that they plan to come back to town and disprove all this nonsense. Coming soon to a radio near you.

The Old Judge: What are your opnions on Wooton and Penny as a couple?

Christian A.: Oh, don't even get me started. I already stated that I really don't like Penny as a character. So when she's paired with one of Odyssey's most beloved characters, thats'one of the worst mistakes the Odyssey team could have made. She and Wooton just aren't a likable couple. And I'd really like to hear more about her religious beliefs before I could become comfortable with Wooton, a Christian, entering a relationship with her. That's all I'll say for now. I may write a blog post about this in the future.

Well, I hope you liked that interview. I know it was long, but we got some good answers from a good person. Well, that's all for now, so stay tuned, and I hope you enjoy Twists and Turns!
                                                                                                                      ---The Old Judge
8/12/2012 06:16:54 am

That was AWESOME! The Voice of Odyssey has always been a favorite site of mine, so it was great hearing from the webmaster! You came up with some great questions, Old Judge, and his answers were just... WOW!

Reply
Pound Foolish
8/12/2012 09:03:16 am

Fantastic, Judge. A thoroughly unique and captivating interview, and good choice of an interviewee. This is your most entertaining non-courtroom event t thus far! I will say I hated where Christian bad-mouthed Penny with the most logic-less reasons possible. Blech. But all the rest of views were well-stated, fascinating, and well-put, whether I agreed with them or not, happily for the interview.
As I said, your questions are the best. Thanks in huge part to them, this is easily the finest, most unique, and most carefully handled non-official interview I've seen on any blog. (By non-official, I mean not on Whit'sEnd.org.) Terrific, terrific, terrific!

Reply
T.S. (myself)
8/12/2012 11:09:37 am

Wow to both of you! Old Judge, boy, do you know how to ask questions! You conducted that interview very well. And you, Christian A., you are quite good at conveying your feelings honestly without being over the top or offensive. However, I think I would opt out of hearing your episode if it ever comes out.

Reply
Christian A.
8/12/2012 11:46:21 am

First of all, I must object to one thing in the post: The Old Judge says that you all received "good answers from a good person." I'm by no means a good person. ;) No one is good but God. And those who know me know that I'm definitely not the exception. I, along with Paul, would call myself the "chief of sinners." Believe me, I have way more struggles with sin than it would appear.

But no offense, TOJ. I know what you meant. I just wanted to clarify the terms. :)

@ Alex: Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed the interview. I had a great time answering the questions. TOJ had a lot of great ones.

@ Pound Foolish: Thank you, too, for your kind comments. :) But would you like to tell me what was wrong with my logic in my "hateful" words toward Penny? I tried to give good reasons, and I really did say how I feel. Do you have some "logic-full" responses? :P

@ T.S.: I probably wouldn't want to hear my episode either. It was a pretty silly idea, and I did write it a while ago. I don't see anything ever really coming out of it. ;)

@ The Old Judge: Thanks again very much for doing the interview with me. Your questions were truly very well thought out and made me think. I'd be glad to do it again sometime, if you can think up some more great questions. :)

Reply
8/13/2012 02:01:29 am

Oh, hey, by the way, do you mind, The Old Judge, if I post this interview on my blog as well, since people seem so pleased with it? Or would you like it to remain exclusive to your blog?

Reply
The Old Judge
8/13/2012 10:58:34 am

Oh, yes, Christian. Actually, I'm honored that you would put something like this on the Voice. ou have my full permission and humble thanks.

Reply
Jwosh
8/13/2012 05:28:48 am

I KNEW Christian would have something to day about the good comment xP

I read the whole thing, mainly to see what I already knew. .and I liked it. Good job! :D

Reply
8/13/2012 09:57:48 am

Great interview, Old Judge and Christian! Very thought-provoking, even though I disagree with your Penny assessment... Keep up the good work!

Reply
Pound Foolish
8/17/2012 11:47:56 am

You tried to be very thorough and thoughtful in your rebuttal of Penny, Christian, I'll grant that. But it falls utterly flat. Penny has NEVER caused any real problems to anyone in AIO. She accidentally led Connie into something that was against her beliefs, true. But, truth be told, such things challenge us and make as think about our faith. Further, this had no lasting "bad effect" on Connie whatsoever.
And I'm being more and more mystified by the recurring complaint Wooton never asked whether Penny was Christian before deciding to pursue her. Of COURSE he asked! But why show it? That would be wasting precious air-time in a VERY packed bunch of episodes. We already knew Penny is Christian from when she told Connie about it. Why bore listeners by repeating that conversation? We're supposed to trust Wooton and Penny enough to ASSUME they have the manalive intelligence to talk about it before going for each other, the AIO team just didn't SHOW it. It's like when Jason, at the end of Nova Com, ends up pursuing Monica again. We never see accept Christ, but we know Jason enough to assume he hasn't suddenly thrown aside his morals and in a relationship with a non-Christian chick without any warning.
So, as I said, I loved the rest of the interview. But, I'm sorry, you're allowed to not be able to enjoy Penny because of personal TASTE. But don't try to say she's actually BAD, just because YOU can't enjoy her. Or Wooton will flood your house with raspberry soda. ;)
So, I don't know if you'll ever read this, but there you have it. Once again, except for that part, nice job!

Reply
8/28/2012 10:15:17 pm

Yes, I read it. But I totally disagree with nearly everything you said. :P

Unfortunately, I have no time to respond to it all. Hopefully I can do a post on my blog about it someday.

Reply



Leave a Reply.